Splurge Worthy or Save Your Money?

By: Kelly Evanko

 

We would all love to be decked out head to toe in Chanel, but let’s face it, that’s just not possible for most of us. We have to manage our budget carefully and, in order to do so, we need to determine how we spend what we have. Here is a list of the things I believe you should splurge a little, as well as those items you would benefit from pocketing your money. 

Splurge or save

 

Splurge worthy:

1. The classic and timeless Little Black Dress or LBD. This is definitely a piece that I believe you should splurge on, since it will be your go-to item for almost any occasion. It can be worn to work or an evening out. The LBD is considered both formal and casual depending on how you accessorize it and, therefore, definitely worth the money. My recommendations are LBDs from Michael Kors, Rachel Zoe, DKNY, or Ralph Lauren.

2. Jeans. I one-hundred percent believe that a great pair of jeans is imperative to everyone’s closet. They come in all types of fits and washes. No one pair of jeans fits the same and shopping for them can be frustrating, but totally worth it. Designer jeans are usually made with more durable, higher quality fabrics, which will last you for years, and they also fit most body types better. My recommendations are those from True Religion, Miss Me, Citizens of Humanity, or Hudson.

3. Handbags. If you’re anything like me, your handbag is an extension of your arm. It is a statement piece. I never go anywhere without my handbag. I feel naked without it and, therefore, I spend the money on at least one or more fine quality handbags. Many of the more expensive purse lines offer lifetime guarantees on their merchandise and they will repair or replace the product at little or no cost to you, if something were to happen to it over time. This ensures that you will have your handbag for years to come and my recommendations are purses from Coach, Prada, Gucci, Marc Jacobs, or Fendi.

4. Undergarments. This goes without saying. A bra is something that you wear everyday and it should not only fit perfectly, but also last a long time. Having a larger chest, I find that the more expensive brands are constructed better and I feel the same about panties, as well. Ill-fitting undergarments can change the entire look of an outfit without you even noticing it and my recommendations are undergarments from Wacoal, La Perla, Cosabella, or Agent Provocateur (for a little more playful lingerie).

5. A Tailored Suit. This is another one of those staples in almost every woman’s closet. We wear them to interviews, to work and even to social occasions. The suit is one of those items you might want to spend a good chunk of change on because it will never go out of style and it will stand the test of time. My recommendations are sets from Brooks Brothers, Ann Taylor, Elie Tahari, or Jones of New York.

Save The Money:

1. T-shirts and Tank Tops. I have bought both expensive and inexpensive tee’s and tanks and found out that the less expensive ones hold up just as well as the pricier ones without breaking the bank. You can even buy them in bulk and wear them with anything. My recommendations are t-shirts from Old Navy, The Gap, or Target.

2. Accessories. You don’t need to sacrifice too much when you buy things to compliment your outfits. Costume jewelry can look just like the real thing. Scarves and hats are another fun addition to any outfit, but they don’t need to BE expensive to LOOK expensive. My recommendations are pieces from Forever 21, Aldo, H&M, or even vintage stores (they are great places to go and find unique items).

3. Shampoo and Conditioner. Out of experience, I have found that the inexpensive brands work just as well or better than the higher dollar brands. My recommendations are products from Pantene or L’Oreal Ever Pure lower sulfate hair care products.

4. Skincare Products. You don’t need to spend your entire paycheck to keep your skin looking young and fresh. I recommend the Olay Professional line of cleansers and moisturizers. They are amazing and my skin has never felt or looked better.

Believe me, the list could go on and on, but I wanted to outline what I found to be the most important items to spend or save on. 

However I saved the best for last, Shoes. I feel that this category could go either way. I have shoes that cost me an entire paycheck and shoes I got for next to nothing. You should definitely own an expensive pair of heels or boots, but there are so many cute styles out there at every price level, so I say, mix it up! My recommendations are footwear from Steve Madden, Vince Camuto, Brian Atwood,  Shoe Dazzle, or Zappos.

I love hearing from my readers! What is it that you find Splurge worthy or Save worthy to you? 

Come join us at CgCDaily.com!

Leave a Reply

