What Coco Chanel Taught Me

By: Kelly Evanko

Gabrielle Bonheur Chanel, aka Coco Chanel, coined as the most elegant woman ever, was a pioneer in the women’s fashion industry. She was credited single-handedly for liberating women from the corseted silhouette and popularizing the genre of casual chic by donning pants, thus becoming the feminine standard. Chanel was also known for the determination and ambition that she applied not only to her professional life, but to her personal life, as well. She was a dominant force in the business world due to all the powerful connections she made and maintained throughout her life. Over the years I have read many quotes from Coco Chanel and applied them to both my professional and personal life. I would like to share a few with you here.

chanel

 

“Don’t spend time beating on a wall, hoping to transform it into a door.” This is the one I learned from the most. I used to spend a lot of time thinking that if I banged on enough walls I could break through and have everything I ever wanted. I kept thinking that with enough hard work and attempts to please everyone, the door would magically open and I would be recognized. This was obviously not the case. All I got was a bruised ego. I learned that not every wall has a door and that there will always be obstacles in my way, but if I believe in myself enough, there will be no more walls to bang on and the path I choose will lead me straight to an open door.

 “The most courageous act is still to think for yourself, aloud.” For me this was a tough lesson to learn. I was always the girl who would think a lot yet keep my thoughts to myself for fear of looking like a fool if I…read more

Come join us at CgCDaily.com!

Leave a Reply

