Overwhelmed? Start with Organization

By Carly Clydesdale

Picture

How many of us, when asked “What is your greatest strength?” in a job interview, say “Organization”? I know I have always been proud of my ability to stay on top of things and as someone who is currently working in HR, hearing “organized” as a trait instantly peaks my interest. It’s not likely that you’ll ever be chastised for being TOO organized, but let’s get real; even the most Type A people get overwhelmed and fall off the wagon sometimes. Lately, I have found myself struggling to stay on top of my work, personal life, finances, and blogging. I keep losing track of what week it is, making too many plans and not having enough me-time, and forgetting about important things until the last minute. Rushing is probably one of the top 5 things I hate most, yet I find myself buying a wedding gift the morning of the wedding and writing a blog post pitch the day before it’s due (sorry, CgC!) Well, to get back on track and help out my fellow busy gals while doing so, I’ve compiled my tips to stay as organized as possible. When used all together they will allow you to create the perfect storm of productivity.


1. Agenda

Ever since my first school-assigned agenda in elementary school, I have relied heavily on a day planner. It can be hard to remember to write everything down, but once you get into a routine, it really works! Even with the iCal and other online scheduling tools (trust me, I’ve tried everything), I always seem to come back to my handwritten agenda. Writing things down not only helps you retain information better, but I also love to write out my week in various colored pens. By recording my work meetings, appointments, bills, personal events and blog schedules in different colors, I’m less likely to forget or double-book. It reminds me of what’s important! Plus, there are SO many cute agendas on the market right now that make organization so much more fun (mine’s from Kate Spade!)

2. Lists

I always used to make fun of my mom for making so many lists, but now that I’m an adult, I can see why she did what she did. By making a to-do list at the beginning of the day or week, I see all of the important things that I HAVE to accomplish. For example: pay Visa bill, write blog posts, take out recycling, buy a friend’s birthday gift. Once those important things have been written down and placed somewhere accessible… Read More

Come join us at CgCDaily.com!
Leave a Reply

