Surviving the Fairy Tale

By Cassie Jung

Picture

As little girls, our fairy tales consisted of being whisked away by Prince Charming and living happily ever after. As women, our dreams become more grandiose. The simple fairy tale is no longer enough. We want the fabulous high power job, the great house/condo, babies, an exciting social life, and of course, our Prince Charming. Simply put, we want it all.

Many women live their fairy tales these days, but unfortunately, they come with a price. High levels of stress, guilt, burnout… Ringing a bell? I know I certainly experience of all these, too. The issue here is not how to have it all, but rather how to manage everything, make it look effortless, and not burnout.


Every blog and article I’ve ever read on this very topic told me that the key is balance. Sure, balance is important, that’s obvious. But, like most things in life, it’s never just one thing that we need to worry about. It’s usually a complex soup of things that we need to work on to achieve what we want…  So how do we have it all and not burnout? I’m still trying to figure that out, but I’ve learned a few things along the way that help me feel a little less stressed out and keep my sanity a bit more in check.

You Have Nothing to Prove: You’ve had your fairy tale come true already, so what are you trying to prove? Perfect example: I would put in a long day at the office and then rush home, clean up the house, and prepare a hot dinner for my husband. Very old school, very traditional wife role, I know… Until one day I just couldn’t do it anymore. Once I had to stay late for work and came home to find that my husband had cooked dinner and was waiting for me. He didn’t even think twice about it. For him, it was no big deal. He wasn’t expecting that of me every day. I was the one putting this expectation onto myself to prove that I could have the big career and be the perfect wife….every….single…day. It was ridiculous…Read More

Come join us at CgCDaily.com!
Leave a Reply

